There are specific rules that every landlord has to follow in New Jersey when evicting a tenant. The first step is usually the termination of the lease or tenant agreement. In some cases, the landlord should initiate the conversation by giving the tenant notice before ending the lease.
There has to be a legal reason for a tenant to end the tenancy early in New Jersey. Some of these reasons may include committing an illegal act on-premise, violating the lease and rental agreement, and failing to pay rent on time. There has to be a notice to the tenant before termination. But that is dependent on the reason for termination.
When a tenant fails to pay their rent on time, the New Jersey laws allow a landlord to evict a tenant without any notice. This right is, however, dependent on whether the landlord habitually collects late rent from the tenant. When the rent is due, and the tenant shows no signs of paying, a tenant may file for an eviction lawsuit directly in court.
There are some instances when the landlord has to offer the tenant three days’ notice to quit any disorderly conduct or stop the destruction of the landlord’s property. The three days’ notice acts as caution the tenant that the landlord will terminate their lease at the end of the three days due to the tenant’s behavior.
When a lease agreement is in violation, the tenant may get a 30-day notice to move out. The same thing also happens when a tenant pays late out of habit. According to the New Jersey rental laws, giving the 30 days’ notice to the tenant prepares them to receive an eviction notice at the end of the set period.